Now You See Me 2 – Review

I love magic. On stage, in films, in books, I can’t beat it. And as a huge fan of the first Now You See Me film I was desperate to see the second installment. But as we know, sequels have a tendency to disappoint. So, the question was, would this sequel be as magical as the first?

Well in my opinion this sequel was as good, if not better than the first film.

I think some people will possibly have been put off by Isla Fisher’s departure due to her pregnancy, but in my opinion, Lizzy Caplan (the newest of the horsemen) served a fantastic replacement. If anything her chemistry with the rest of the cast far surpassed that which Fisher had with her co-stars. That’s not to say Fisher was a disappointment, far from it, but Caplan was far more in sync with the group and slotted right in as if she’d always been there.

The chemistry and the banter between the cast was a large part of this films appeal. It was funny, scathing and natural. The casting was fantastic. Woody Harrelson deserves special mention for playing two, hugely funny but hugely different characters. Every single member of the cast meshed in perfectly with the rest, in fact for the most part, it didn’t feel like watching a cast of actors at all, the whole thing felt completely natural. Radcliffe especially.

15-02-27_FOX_FRANK_1016302b

In the case of Daniel Radcliffe, I think it is fair to say he has developed into a wonderful actor. He was funny, sarcastic and sadistic. In fact, I’d say he played a sociopath far too well.

The plotline itself was as to be expected. Plenty of showmanship, plenty of glamour, bright lights, special effects, the lot. You could argue the glitz was used to cover up a lax storyline. But you’d be wrong. The plot had plenty of twists, plenty of turns, some were slightly predictable but there were so many that you forgave the slightly less surprising ones.

Now obviously, its easy to make a film about magic look spectacular with the range of special effects on offer today. But it was none the less spell binding. I for one was so captivated that I didn’t care that the magic was more than likely entirely filmed. I didn’t care that the people on screen weren’t really the greatest magicians in the world. For once, I was totally captivated. I didn’t spend the film thinking ‘this is some fantastic acting’ I spent the film thinking ‘this is totally magic.’

 

If that isn’t the sign of a good film, I don’t know what is.

Leave a Reply

